Dog License Application Form, Centre County
Pennsylvania Dog Laws
1. All dogs three months of age or older must be licensed.
2. All dogs must be under control and may not be allowed to run at large. Dogs are personal property and owners are responsibile for damages caused by their dogs.
3. It is illegal to mistreat or abuse any animal. Violations should be reported to the local humane organization or police.
4. You may not place any poison or harmful substance in any place where it may be easily found and eaten by dogs whether it be your property or elsewhere.
5. It is illegal to abandon or attempt to abandon any dog. Fines for abandonment range from $300 to $1,000 plus court costs.
6. No dog under seven weeks old may be bartered, traded, sold or transferred.
7. You must have a current kennel license if you operate a kennel that keeps, harbors, boards, shelters, sells, gives away or transfers a total of 26 or more dogs in any one calendar year.
8. It is illegal to interfere with an officer or employee of the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture engaged in enforcement of dog laws.